Peru, Tomorrow!

Standard

my trip!

Checking off my 21st country mañana, and my first time in South America!

Peruuuuuuu, I’m ready for you!

Except not really.

First of all, I have officially waited too long to get any vaccines or prescriptions…which was highly recommended by my friend Tara, who spent months in Peru. She had three different vaccines and popped malaria pills like candy (along with Imodium and Pepto Bismol…those I DID purchase…Peru apparently can really eff with your tummy tum tum). She AND my friend Johanna both came back to the States with some sort of parasite. Cooooool.

Secondly, this is my second Contiki tour, but first time I haven’t really known anyone beforehand. On my first Contiki, we all talked on Facebook months before our trip, and we became fast Internet friends. When we all finally met in person in London, it was like we’d known each other for years. This time around, I’m not really sure what the deal is—no one is talking on our online forum, no one has started a Facebook group… I’m definitely feeling apprehensive about traveling alone.

Then there’s the packing. But that’s an issue every time I travel. I just work better in high-stress, last-minute situations sometimes. Packing is the pits and I intend to put it off for as long as possible, every single time. Today, instead of packing, I went to Krause Springs for a swim and then Carino’s for some skilletini and then I saw Magic Mike XXL. Yeah, my priorities are on point like that.

Lastly, this is my first trip away while in a serious relationship…I know, I know, I don’t want to be that annoying girl who’s like I’M GONNA MISS MY BOO! But I am. I am that girl. I was in Ireland just four months ago, and really, really missed him then. But we weren’t too serious then either…so much has changed in four months, wow! I even pathetically bought cutesy cards and wrote cutesy (disgusting) things in them, for him to open every couple days while I’m gone. Gross. Gag.

Anyway. Hopefully, I’ll post something awesome after I get back—maybe about Machu Picchu, maybe about Lake Titicaca, maybe about how impressed I was with my rusty Spanish skills (fingers crossed), but hopefully not in any way about my bowels.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

