The Sweeney’s and Beer: One More Week!

Standard

Cliffs-of-Moher1

SPRING BREAK IS COMING. This teacher is definitely more excited than her students about the one week countdown. Oh goooooodness, I can’t wait. I’ve had itchy feet for a while now. Dying to “get outa town” as they say. Took a quick trip to Fredericksburg recently, but that didn’t really do the trick.

Six more days and it’s NYC (purposely lengthened our layover so we could squeeze in Aladdin on Broadway) and then Dublin for Saint Patrick’s Day!

Apparently if you go overboard with green and leprechaun mentions, you will be judged and shunned, hard. Glad I learned that. Who woulda thought that Americans have warped other culture’s traditions into their own versions… Strange.

Anyway. Guinness tour, Jameson distillery, St. Paddy’s parade, Cliffs of Moher, Blarney Castle, and more. GET HERE, SPRING BREAK, GET HERE NOW.

I should also mention that this intensely awesome and affordable Groupon deal comes with a rental car—so we will be driving ourselves all around the Irish countryside. What the. I know. I’m not very good at driving here in Texas so I can only imagine the danger we will surely be in with me behind the wheel in a foreign country.

But then again: beer.

Not to be combined with the driving, geez. I’m just saying: beer.

It’s going to be in the 40s and 50s and rainy the entire trip: beer. That one makes more sense I guess.

Also, it is imperative to tell you that we will be staying at B&B’s across Ireland, most of which are your average European hostel-type stays, HOWEVER, one of them is a legit farm overlooking the sea, owned by the cutest old couple named The Sweeney’s. I cannot express how excited I am to meet The Sweeney’s. I also may ask them to adopt me, if they’re as adorable in person as their picture and description portray. Isn’t it crazy how some people’s “norm” is feeding their donkeys, drinking coffee while gazing over the Cliffs of Moher?! Just, ya’ know, another day in the life. Meanwhile I’m over here in Austin, scraping myself outa bed and shuffling out of my crappy apartment complex onto I-35, realizing that I put in my left contact but not my right.

You know what, though? Even if The Sweeney’s turn out to be super creepy Roald Dahl’s “The Landlady” types: beer.

13 responses »

  1. Don’t, for the love of whatever, try driving around Dublin. The traffic is mental and so are Dubs, once they get behind the wheel of a car. And don’t go asking for Guinness in Cork, either – Beamish or Murphy’s.

  2. Dublin is great! Guinness factory tour is also great but I passed on the free pint of Guinness at the end of the tour and had a glass of wine instead. Best part about Bar-hopping in Temple Bar area is all the live music you can handle and crushingly full pubs with the bartender standing on his bar handing pints of beer over the heads of everyone in the crush to the customer. Great fun and I’m sure you’ll love it! 🙂

  3. Also, remember not to order corned beef and cabbage. It’s NOT genuine ethnic Irish food. They may put it on the menu at this time of year, but that’s only because American tourists think it’s Irish.

    Bring along a hot-water bottle to fill from the electric teakettle and take to bed – trust me, you’ll want it. There are some cold, damp, spider-infested hostels over there that call themselves B&Bs, just because they set aside a room with several tables, a toaster, and a couple of boxes of cold cereal.

    I stayed for several days in a nice B&B in Navan town, Co. Meath (http://www.athlumneymanor.com). Pauline and Pat had one or two long-stay guests and a steady flow of tourists to keep them busy, but they treated me like royalty.

    Have a great time!

  4. We did this similar trip there several years ago. We stayed in B&Bs most of the 9 days but traded one of our “coupons” for a night at Ashford Castle and one night in a Dublin hotel. The parade was the strangest I’ve ever seen, but worth it. We did the Guinness tour on St. Patrick’s Day. We drove and had no problems. 🙂 Take the extra insurance though, just in case. Sleep on the plane so you arrive rested and ready to spend the day touring, rather than haggard and jet lagged. You usually arrive in the morning there, but it’s a very short night for you.

    A few “Not to be Missed”:
    1. Stone Age Passage Tomb at Newgrange in the Boyne Valley, Ireland is best known for the illumination of its passage and chamber by the winter solstice sun. Waaayyy cool! Older than Stonehenge and the Pyramids.
    2. Be sure to catch one of the many large stone crosses. Each block has multiple Bible stories.
    3. Oh, and see if the Book of Kells is still free on St. Patrick’s Day. That is magnificent!!
    4. I personally liked Belleek and Waterford factory tours. Watching them make the china and crystal was amazing.

    Have a GREAT time!! We did.

    • Also … I forgot to say, thanks for stopping by my blog, and for the follow. Your book looks great – congratulations on getting it written and out there! I will certainly bag myself a copy.

Leave a Reply

