I THINK I’ve made a publishing decision…

Standard

self_publishing1

If you read my post a few weeks ago, you know I have A Chance to Leave the Self-Pub World…

I think I’ve finally made a decision.

 

 

Drum roll please……………………….

 

 

 

I’m going to STAY put, self-pub, indie, unrepresented. Not gonna take the publisher’s offer. Not gonna sign the contract.

 

You might think I’m crazy. Here are the 3 main reasons for my decision:

1. The publishers that contacted me are extremely new and unheard of. They publish a LOT of erotica, which my book is NOT.

2. I worked really hard for my Amazon and Goodreads reviews and I didn’t want to lose them.

3. I’ve done pretty well marketing for myself, and after researching the publisher (and contacting their authors), I was led to believe that their marketing wouldn’t be any better than my own.

 

This doesn’t mean I’m not opening to signing a contract in the future- with a publisher more fitting for my novel and I. But if that never happens, I’ll be fine 🙂 The self-pub world IS pretty amazing, after all.

 

 

 

photo cred

26 responses »

  1. Good for you! I think it’s a really courageous decision you’ve made – I’m sure that many people might just sort of think ‘wow a real publisher wants to publish me’, get all starry-eyed and go for it.

    It sounds to me like you’ve made the right decision – you’ve thought about it and weighed up the pros and cons and it doesn’t look like this particular publisher would be good for you.

    But like you say there are other publishers out there who may be interested in your work one day. For now – enjoy the ride of self-publishing! 🙂

  2. Good on you. I totally respect your decision and I like that you pointed out it was the right decision for THIS book and that you’re open to other possibilities in the future. It’s all about trusting our instincts and giving our work the treatment it deserves; that can differ from writer to writer and from book to book 🙂

    • Gracias 🙂 If they would’ve had more titles that weren’t erotica, I probably would’ve signed. But unfortunately, I knew that my novel would inevitably be grouped with the majority of their authors, which I’m not comfortable with.

  3. I wonder why that publisher was interested in your book if erotica is more their thing? Just seems like an odd business decision on their part, considering their existing audience. Good for you for making a decision to stay indie. I have yet to be presented with that kind of opportunity, but maybe someday.

    You may have addressed this in other posts, but curious how you go about marketing as an indie. I’m still trying to figure that out.

    • I wondered the same thing, Beth. I think since they’re so new, they’re looking for anything and everything.

      Marketing on your own is exhausting- I made a dreaded step over to Twitter but now am slightly obsessed with it haha. Plus blogging, Facebooking, contacting reviewers, etc. etc. Good luck!

  4. YOU GO!! If any publisher should have you, it should be Random House, lol. 😉 But you are doing pretty well, reviews on both Amazon and Goodreads..I mean.

    I totally want to market your book through Instagram, by the way.

  5. I commend your decision, you have built up something great and not many publishers can campaign as hard as you do for your own work. You’re in a strong position, you are the indie publisher, and you are doing a mountain of promo work that they would have to do, so unless the deal is good, then it seems to me you are part of a renaissance in the book world that’s cutting edge! AND there’s nothing to say a fresh piece of work that hasn’t been self-published by you yet won’t be sought after by an agent or publisher who will then get you an offer you can’t refuse, and with the following you’ve already built up you would be an asset to any big publisher. Well done and thanks for the follow!

  6. I think you’re making the right choice. It’s a hard choice, but unless the publisher is offering you something substantial, it doesn’t look like a deal that would have any advantage for you. New publishers are always a bit dodgy. Are they going to be around in a few months, much less next year? At least with Amazon, you can be reasonably sure they’ll stick around. AND they deliver the royalties without argument, in full, every month. You cannot say that for other publishers!

  7. Reblogged this on The Word Mint and commented:
    Am about to self publish my second novel called Find Me. I’ve considered trying to find a publisher but everything I’ve learnt during the past year since self-publishing my debut fiction book Write About Me points me in the same direction as outlined by Alysha Kaye. There is a lot to be said for being in control of your own destiny 🙂

Leave a Reply

