When Book Bloggers Go MIA…

Standard

blog

 

Before THE WAITING ROOM was released to Amazon, I did what every self-published author does: I emailed an ARC to any lovely book blogger who was willing to give it an honest review!

Many of them have been my #1 supporters–not just posting blogs, but hosting interviews, sharing on Twitter and Facebook, re-posting on Amazon and Goodreads, and more. These people have shown me more love than some of my own family and friends (sadly).

But what about those other book bloggers?

…you know, the ones who promised an honest review but then…disappeared faster than underage college kids when the cops show up to a frat party.

I mean, I sent you an ARC, man! And a follow-up email!

Is this just something indie authors have to live with? Am I rightfully bummed?

 

 

 

photo cred

35 responses »

  1. Do you have a particular idea of if/when your book may be in a book store? As unfortunately, my debit card broke because I forgot to tell my mother to hold off my work shirt before she put it in the wash. AKA No online-book-buying.
    But your book, and just reading the reviews like 5 minutes ago, seems to be really, really good. And I believe I’ll particularly enjoy it.

  2. Unfortunately, it is. Sometimes it’s just that the specific blogger doesn’t have time to read in a span of a few days/weeks. However, sometimes people do completely disappear for reasons unknown and there’s really nothing anyone can do to help. It’s a shame when they do but at least there’s the ones who do as they promise.

  3. Like one of the other commenters said, some people have enormous lists of books to be read. Maybe they are planning on getting around to your book later. Of course I don’t know how long you’ve had to wait. Also, if someone gave me a free book, I’d move it to the top of the list… On the other hand, they probably receive plenty of free books in exchange for reviews, so I suppose it just depends on the time frame.

  4. Yep, happens to many people, sadly. I think that’s just part of the business. But my last blog tour, luckily, resulted in several good reviews that the disappointment from those who didn’t review didn’t hurt as much. And then there are book bloggers who must have thought “Aw crap! I was supposed to review this, wasn’t I?!” and post a review several weeks, if not months later. Go by word of mouth and submit to bloggers with credible feedback from other writers you know.

  5. It happens. I offered to tear someone’s work apart so they could edit it right, but after chapter 4 I ended up getting bogged down by work and my own writing projects. Finally, a month later I realized that I wasn’t going to get around to it. I emailed her to let her know, but a lot of people just push it away for so long that they forget about it. I know I sent previous novels to at least 50 beta readers and I got 4 replies from all that.

  6. Hi, I’m new to this and have yet to ask people for reviews. What does ARC stand for, and how do you go about emailing book bloggers for review requests? Any advice is much appreciated, thanks!

  7. Alysha, often I think bad things only happen to me, but rarely is it true (I’m pretty sure). 😉 I think it’s great that you blogged about it!

    I borrowed a copy of The Waiting Room with my Kindle Unlimited account and am half-way through. If you’re still looking for honest reviews, let me know. I can be rather merciless though—as merciless on others as I am on myself. In fact, my book has far more typos than I’d like, but I don’t have the energy or motivation right to complete a polish. It will come back to me though; it always does. It’s a cycle.

    On a scale of 1 to 10, let me know how merciless you’d like me to be. I won’t say I’m the best reviewer in the world, but my negativity often helps me spot things that others might miss. I’m also easily amused so I can spot cute and nice things.

    Thanks for taking the time to stop by my site, by the way. Have a wonderful day, Alysha, and good luck with your book! 🙂

      • I shot you an email with some information. I hope you find it appropriate and useful for your writing in the future. I’ll say here, The Waiting Room is an interesting book so far and I’ve been enjoying it quite a lot. 🙂

  8. This is totally random, but I love that you’re an English teacher and that you’ve managed to write a book. It’s something I’ve wanted to do for a while now. Write a book out of dialogue or a book of poetry. I’m terrified of both.

    Oh, and I’m planning on getting your book on my kindle later tonight, it looks right up my alley. Plus, the title pulled me in right away. 🙂

  9. Your book sounds great. I’ve added it to my wish list now. I have a pile of books to read. Hope to get it by Christmas. Cheers!

  10. Hi Alysha. Thank you for liking one of my first blog posts. I am also a teacher, and I am preparing to launch my first children’s picture book. I would greatly appreciate your advice for contacting bloggers and/or reviewers. I am in contact with a few fellow self-publishers, via LinkedIn, who have offered to review it. I am embarrassed to admit that I don’t even know what ARC means, let alone how to send one! Ha! Thanks for any advice you have for a newbie.

    Michelle

  11. Hi Alysha,

    I’m impressed with your promotional efforts, especially considering the limitations on your time for writing and marketing. If you don’t mind me asking, what source did you use for your list of book bloggers?

Leave a Reply

