Turkey: The Country and the Lunchmeat

Standard

Istanbul

In three days, I’ll be traveling to Europe 🙂 Rome–>Athens–>Santorini–>Mykonos–>Istanbul–>Capadoccia! One of the things I’m most excited about is the Blue Mosque in Istanbul (the beautiful thing shown in the picture).

I’m not sure what I’m more nervous/anxious/thrilled about: this amazing summer trip or my new teaching job starting as soon as I get back. I am officially moving from 7th grade English to 9th grade English. I accepted a position at Hays High School, my alma mater! To top it off, I’ll be teaching alongside my mentor, my real-life Dumbledore, the guy who’s responsible for me writing and teaching (thanks a lot, I’ll be poor forever). My novel is actually dedicated to him! So hey teachers, feeling down? You never know, maybe a student will dedicate a book to you one day.

I’m really gonna miss my squirrely middle schoolers though. Not to mention my coworkers here in Del Valle that I’ve come to deeply love and respect.

Hence my clever title…lunchmeat, cafeteria….high school? Ok, so maybe the dots aren’t as easy to connect as I’d like to think, but whatever.

Why am I writing one blog to talk about two completely different topics? I’m lazy, y’all.

In fact, I’ve said all I wanted to say already.

Let me sum up (I just love making lists, to be honest):

1. Rome- I guess that coin I threw into the fountain a few years ago for “returning” worked. Now about that other coin…

2. Greece- Was anyone else obsessed with The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants when they were younger? Yeah, I’ll be on the lookout for Kostas.

3. Turkey, the country- Please send good, safe vibes since it’s not exactly a prime time to travel there… Also: we’re going on a hot air balloon ride. Be jealous.

4. Turkey, the lunchmeat- Bring it on, freshmen.

 

Sidenote: it’ll be really nice to get away from all the book marketing exhaustion. THE WAITING ROOM is my baby and I love her…but she has been a real pain in the ass! Sorry to my WordPress/Twitter amigos- if I’m silent for a few weeks, it’s because I’m tanning on a Greek island. NBD.

20 responses »

  1. Congratulations on landing a job at your alma mater. I think it’s so lovely that you dedicated your novel to your teacher/mentor. And, yes, I’m jealous about the hot air balloon ride you’ll be going on. Although I can’t help but wonder what happens up there when nature calls.

  2. Funny post. Looking forward to a turkey sandwich? Sorry. Couldn’t resist. My husband has taught at his alma mater for 28 years. It’s been an adventure. Good luck on both of yours.

  3. Thanks for the follow! Sounds like your teaching situation is similar to mine. I’m also teaching 9th grade English at the same school as my mentor teacher! Very exciting.
    I’m incredibly jealous of your trip. It sounds like so much fun. I hope you have a great time!

  4. So many things crammed in this brilliant little post and I identify with almost all of them.

    First, I’m jealous of your trip. My vacation this summer was house-sitting for my sister and brother-in-law while they spent a week vacationing with their family in Myrtle Beach. I just want one REAL vacation!

    Second, congratulations on your new position! I am beginning my first teaching position (I’m a second-career teacher) this fall. I’m teaching 7th & 8th Grade Honors English and High School ELAR Remediation/Intervention. All at my alma mater and my real-life Dumbledore (Mrs. Landers) will be teaching the dual-credit college English course there.

    Finally, I’m an aspiring novelist, as well. There’s one in there. I’ve started it a hundred times, so I know it’s there.

    Anyway, thanks for the post. It encouraged me!

  5. Alysha, thanks for checking out my blog and liking it! you sound like heaps of fun and I like the way you write! Yep, I’m teaching, vetting and writing,.. and being a mum to teenagers … and playing on my farm. Glad you liked my blog. Yours is great. Have a TREMENDOUS time overseas and look forward to pics and stories upon your return! Now, back to writing! 🙂

  6. Hi Alysha, first of all, I am so enjoying reading the “Waiting Room”. I think that ‘Ruth’ is a strange person but I hope we get to meet her again in the follow up.
    Have a great trip. I hope you get plenty of time to relax and unwind before starting the new post in Grade 9. Mykonos is a beautiful island, full of beautiful people, so you will fit in very nicely there.
    Have fun.

  7. Congrats on the new position and a fantastic travel plans! Sounds like an excellent summer for you.

    Will you be sharing your travel stories? I honeymooned in Istanbul, and miss it terribly. (Not to say that Rome and Greece won’t be interesting to hear about as well, but I’m perhaps a bit biased.) Fingers are crossed!

    And hey, I’m from SM, too. Excuse me while I’m irrationally excited to meet an author from my home town!

Leave a Reply

