The Waiting Room – A excerpt

Standard

The Wessex Literary Review

the-waiting-room-coverHere’s an excerpt from Chapter 2, that gives a little insight to what the actually waiting room is like for Jude, who waits a total of 52 years:

It had been five years in the waiting room. Can you imagine? Five years of one room, watching the world change, wearing the same damn suit.

Joe and I had long ago decided that I was the official “newcomers’ counselor.” Any people appearing to be confused and needing a little more guidance than the trusty old handbook—that’s where I came in. I told them everything I knew. Besides the fact that I didn’t work there…I didn’t want to cause any more outbursts. I comforted them, joked that maybe I’d “see them next time,” and then called their name and led them to their grand exit.

“Hey Joe, what would happen if I decided to walk through the door?”

“You’d just end up…

View original post 834 more words

About Alysha Kaye Mendez

Author of THE WAITING ROOM, available now on Amazon! 9th grade English teacher, tirelessly trying to save the future from their/they're/there catastrophes (it could be ugly). Teaching writing and being a writer at the same time is harder than it sounds. New goal=be both, better.

Leave a Reply

