Kindle Select Program- yay or nay?

Standard

 

Self-publishing is sometimes the PITS, y’all.

Here I am, suuuuuper pumped for the release of my novel on July 1, completely expecting to make it available on multiple platforms. I mean, sure, everyone knows that Kindle is the best e-reader, but who am I to judge you Nookie fans? And you rare iTunes/iBooks/Apple lovers. And yes, even you, you Smashwords page-turners.

Let’s face it–authors don’t care HOW you read their books or HOW you buy their books–we’re just over the moon if you DO buy and read our books!

All of this is to say that I’ve been persuaded to try out Amazon’s Kindle Select Program. If you’re not a crazed self-published author, let me explain a bit.

The Kindle Select Program offers various *free* promotional deals to authors IF and only if the authors agree to sell exclusively through Amazon for the first 90 days. No Barnes & Noble, no Apple, no Smashwords, etc.

At first, I was outraged. I was very all-caps: MY NOVEL WILL BE AVAILABLE TO WHOMEVER WANTS TO BUY IT GODDAMMIT!

But then I was like…Oh yeah, this is my first novel. I am…a teacher. I am…poor. I…have nothing to lose.

Free promotion is kiiiiinda hard to pass up. This blog really helped me make up my mind- gracias, Karol.

 

So I am EXTREMELY sorry if you’re NOT a Kindle reader. This truly upsets me greatly. BUT, Amazon will still have the paperback available OR you can wait 90 days, when I will probably expand markets. Please share your own personal experiences and your thoughts on this decision.

And I hope you still keep an eye out for THE WAITING ROOM July 1 πŸ™‚

Kindle price: $3.99

Paperback: $9.99

 

photo cred

21 responses »

  1. I think that sounds like a great opportunity. If it were me, I’d definitely go for it. And as far as the “which platform is better” debate, I think since so many people have smart phones these days that it doesn’t matter. I have an Android LG G2 and I have a Kindle app, Nook app, AND a separate eReader called Aldiko for the books I get free from NetGalley, Edelweiss, and authors. That’s not even including the standard eReader that comes on Android devices, which is Play Books (which I haven’t even used yet). There are so many eBook platforms that can be downloaded that I think selling on just one doesn’t matter. If someone wants the book, they’ll download the app that they can get it on.

  2. That sounds like a great deal! Free promotion is always worth looking into, no doubt. Congrats on your upcoming release, by the way – The Waiting Room sounds really interesting, and the cover looks nice πŸ™‚ I’ll definitely have to order it when it comes out!

    As for the platform issue: as Jenna mentioned, most of the bigger “platforms” now have apps that will work on most mobile devices. As long as they don’t mind reading on their phone or iPad or other device (I know the Nook, for instance, can also run the Kindle App), they’ll be able to get it if they want it.

  3. I wouldn’t worry. Most cross-platform readers these days use Calibre and convert their Amazon purchases to a format that suits. From my experience of dealing with authors over the past year you’re making the right decision, but you need to lay the groundwork. Engage your readers, follow people like Hugh Howey, Jason Gurley and Michael Bunker who really get the best from Amazon’s self-publishing platforms and are always happy to give advice.

  4. Pingback: KINDLE BOOKS

Leave a Reply

