Authors + Social Media = ?

Standard

Social Media stress

It’s definitely 2014, folks, in case you didn’t realize. Unless you’ve been living under a very large and very heavy rock, then you know this one beautiful yet terrifying fact: social media is truly the current leader of the world.

Self-publishing means self-marketing in most cases and IT IS NOT EASY. Le sigh. If I was rich, I would immediately pay someone to do all of this constant, tedious humble bragging for me, but alas, I am…a middle school teacher.

So what do you do? You want your book to sell. You want a readership that includes more than just obligated family and friends. But you’re just a laid-back WordPress blogger at heart! You have no interest in Pinterest (see what I did there?)!

Facebook was easy. I do love Facebook. So the official author page is up and running! I’m up to 225 likes. It definitely required bullying my friends and family into sharing the page and inviting their friends to like the page. I looked into Facebook advertisement, figuring, “How expensive could it possibly be?” Yeah. The answer is “too expensive.” Hopefully, when the lovely bloggers who have promised to write book reviews post said book reviews, the likes will build!

I was suuuuper hesitant to leap into the Twitter world. I created one years ago to see what all the fuss was about. And “fuss” is definitely the correct word. Twitter is filled with a ton of CRAP that you have to wade through in order to read something that’s actually interesting. You have to be VERY careful about who you follow. I messed up BIG TIME. I had no idea there was a follow limit! Amateur status. In my mind, the more people I follow=the more possible readers. So I became click happy, not even looking at who I was following. Then Twitter informed me that there’s a 2,000 follow limit. So now that I’ve found fellow writers whose tweets I actually WANT to read, I can’t even follow them unless I go unfollow someone else! Way to go, Alysha. I have connected with quite a few great people though, and I’m up to 800 followers.

Follow me here: alyshakaye7

My legit author website is in the works (the address will be http://www.alyshakaye.com).

I am officially on Goodreads. Pretty cool place. Can’t wait for my book to release so I can get my first star review! Friend me here if you’re a fellow Goodreads enthusiast: Alysha Kaye

I refuse to start an Instagram or Pinterest. Eh, I just can’t commit to those platforms, I don’t know what’s so unappealing to me, but I just can’t.

My WordPress continues to be my true social media passion. I just love bloggers and blog-readers! You guys are the best.

Whew. So there you have it. It’s been an extremely crazy time. Keeping up with social media is time-consuming to say the least!

Do I think all of this will pay off? I freakin’ hope so.

Until the book releases in July, the equation stays as is: Authors + Social Media = ?

 

photo cred

22 responses »

    • Happy July Alysha…Much Success with your Book Release, thank you for sharing…I also am struggling with Instagram, and Twitter. Thank you for taking the time to read my Blog “Romantic Rendezvous. Have A Great Day My Dear!!!

  1. Social media can be exhausting! My favourite is blogging too, it definitely feels more personal and a great way to connect with other writers and readers πŸ™‚

  2. I totally agree. Social media can be so overwhelming, especially when it changes from a simple, personal foray into technology and becomes a legitimate marketing tool! Blogging is definitely my favourite and the one I’m focussing on at the moment because I think it feels a lot more personal, detailed and interactive; you can really get to know people and their work. In the build up to publication of my next book, I’ll probably have to step up my game a bit with the others though.

    Anywho, I’m glad I found your blog. I’m looking forward to more of your posts πŸ™‚

  3. I agree — WordPress is the best, and I can’t handle the stress of Instagram! I also refuse to do Pinterest, but that’s just me being stubborn!

  4. Don’t cut off your nose to spite your face with Pinterest. I only use Pinterest for personal things now, but the reach is amazing. You pin one image (say the book you just reviewed), which will lead back to your blog and it reaches hundreds of people in a day. You can’t pay for that kind of publicity.

    Also, you do link your social media, right? My WordPress blogs automatically gets fed through Twitter and onto Facebook so I reach dozens of people at once. ^_^ I’m just a personal blogger, not professional, but one day I’ll be using social media for professional reasons.

  5. I use pintrest because I love to share the photographs I take, but like wscotting says, you can link to your blog and get more of a following. I also share my covers and they are shared or pinned to “Favorite Reads”, etc, on fans’ pintrest sites. What can be better than that? But I try to always pin a picture from a blog to do expanded duty. Same with automatically sending my WordPress blog to: Linked In, Google + (have 7,163,000+ visits on it), Tumbler, FB, Twitter) so again, increased mileage with a blog. I also am on Blogger and share on Google Reads with that one. πŸ™‚ http://www.pinterest.com/terryspear/

  6. Social media is truly a tricky business and a bit of a PandoraΒ΄s box! (Also, I can’t believe there’s someone like you out there who gets off wordpress long enough to finish their book! Kudos to you for doing that πŸ™‚ )

  7. Hi! You have to use Google. It has the widest reach of all. Open a blogger page on Blogspot.com
    Your Google followers will follow your blog. I also have tumblr blogs to find readers. I usually find pictures to steal from them.

  8. I’ve found Pinterest is a lot of fun if you’re making boards for writing projects. You can collect concept art and other things. πŸ™‚

  9. The thoughts you share resonate, especially, “If I was rich, I would immediately pay someone to do all of this constant, tedious humble bragging for me, but alas, I am…a middle school teacher.” πŸ™‚
    Social media = work. I agree! But this is 2014 . . .

  10. Former teacher turned homeschooler, writer working on first novel, from Texas… We have quite a bit in common! Thanks for visiting my blog. Congrats on your upcoming release!

  11. I have to agree here. Blogging, while providing an outlet to try to sell my book has also been a way for me to let off steam about things that have been boiling inside me for a long time.

Leave a Reply

