Authors Need Photos? Ugh.

Standard

Author bio photos- gag me. No, I don’t want a boring as hell head shot. No, I don’t want to be reading my favorite book while wearing my glasses and sitting atop Poe’s grave.

C’mon, do I really have to have a photo at all? Turns out, yes. Unless you’re Salinger.

I’m not sure why exactly I was surprised by this, but I had zero professional pictures on Facebook. If my outfit was professional, I was holding a beer. If the background was a perfect mix of muted and artsy, my dress was revealing. If my smile said, “Hello, I am an author. Bitch.” then the background was undoubtedly filled with chaos. Le sigh.

There was no way that I was going to pay a photographer- so voila, Jennifer, my co-teach extraordinaire stepped up her game.

We headed to Castle Hill Graffiti–AKA the Hope Outdoor Gallery–and got some pretty amazing shots.

I do believe this is the winner:

9

Yes, black and white. It somehow…looked…more…like someone who would write a novel and be serious about it goddammit. While standing in front of graffiti.

“Oh, look at me, I just wrote a novel and now I’m publishing it and I’m standing in front of Austin graffiti art to represent…art and stuff. ‘Cause I’m a writer. And I do that sort of thing.”

Keep your eye out for The Waiting Room, y’all. Should be out this summer! I mean, how can you pass up your own personal copy of that picture?!

8 responses »

  1. I do love black and white photos…my eldest son is a photographer, living in Berlin, but when he lived in Ireland, almost all of his best photos were in black and white.

    Yours is great!

Leave a Reply

