Gotta’ Lub a Self-Pub

Standard

***If you are an author/blogger/reviewer and you’re interested in writing a review for my novel once it’s printed, please message me and I’ll be happy to send you a free copy! Another way you can help out? Friends in low places (AKA awesome places)? Yes, please! Give me a shout.***

Yes, it’s finally happening!

I have dusted off the old novel (I really thought it might become one of those things people find on my laptop after I die) and submitted it for a proper edit. I started writing it when I was 20 and finished about three years ago, so the fact that this is finally coming together is a huge deal for me. It’s nerve-wracking to say the least.

I have some amazing graphic designers working on my book cover concepts (stay tuned for the options–I’d love to get your opinion and your vote). Pretty pumped!

And they’re making me an author website, whaaaaat?! I’m movin’ on up in the world.

 

Self-publishing is really the way to go these days. I interned at a huge pub. comp. in New York back in college and let’s just say…the market is bleak. Really depressing stuff. I watched every day as they shrugged off amazing novels only to replace them with pure crap (“This was written by Obama’s half-fourth-adopted cousin, so we can sell this and make millions!”). Plus, the writers get zero creative input and barely profit at all! After that experience, I was skeptical about any and all publishing companies.

So I started looking into the scary self-pub world.

I definitely could’ve done a LOT of this work on my own, but HELLO I also have a job wrangling 100 pre-teens every day…plus I do like to have somewhat of a social life. I also could have risked it and NOT paid for an edit…I mean, I WAS an English major, I think it would’ve been alright. But eh, why settle for alright?

 

Anyway, all this is to say that I’m ecstatic to get this process rollin’ and I’m happy you are here for me to share the journey with! Hopefully when the time comes, you’ll be reading The Waiting Room (check out the first chapter).

 

Be on the lookout for the book cover concepts, my upcoming author website/Facebook page, AND the book itself of course:)

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

